Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• adding power steering

Hello to everyone!
    Regarding my 57 Silver Hawk with champion flathead and auto transmission. This car has standard steering. I may (in the future)want power steering. First of all(not knowing Studes that well yet),
    can it be done ? --and secondly, what has to be changed if the answer to the first question is yes? I'm not sure if the present steering gear can be used with added components or I would have to switch it out with another unit off another car. I know I need a pump, mounting hardware & a cylinder. Are these parts obtainable from Studebaker International?. Any advice will be appreciated.

(PS----I got my accelerator/carburator linkage problem solved & Mr. Biggs was right---the system of linkages works well when everything is adjusted right-----Thanks again Dan Ward

I am not an expert on this, but I know you have to change the bellcrank. I put a power steering bellcrank on the 63 Lark I had but never added the power steering. I think you may need a different pulley and the rest should just bolt on. The best thing would be to find a 6 cyl Hawk parts car or a vendor who has the complete setup. 6 cyl. Hawk parts cars with power steering might be hard to find. I don't think many people ordered power steering with 6 cylinder engines.

Comment

Dan,

Good to hear that the linkage problem got cured. As to the power steering, the 57s had a different setup from what you're making reference to. On '57s, the power assisting was all contained in the steering sector itself. There was no seperate power cylinder like later cars had (we commonly refer to that system as the Bendix PS setup - the earlier is a Saginaw system)