1950 Champion first check out

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1950 Champion first check out

Hello everyone. I am new to the Studie World, and liken every minute of it. I am darn close at picking up a neighbors 1950 Champion Regal Sedan. It has not run in 15 years or so. I have been reading tirelessly on anything Champion related. I want to try and turn over the motor and check the workings of this girl. Try and see what I am getting myself into. Here is my plan of attack check list: New 6v battery, new spark plugs, fuel pump inspection, "run" engine off gas can (clean fuel), Oil change, prime engine with fuel some how, try and get it to run.

HERE is the question. The owner is in SC and the car is in central Texas. No keys. I can jump it but can I get under the hood without the keys if the doors are locked? If I can get under the hood, what is the process of jumping the motor? I am interested in becoming apart of the Central Texas Stude club asap, but I wanted to get this out because I want to do this in the next few days.
    One last question here: If ya'll were doing what I am about to do(I am sure most of you have), what am I missing as far as inspection? Thanks a million for the help.

Eric Lenk-"The Green Horn"

The hood latch can be reached with a long screwdriver or bar by reaching up from the bottom according to some of the posts I have seen on here in the past. Maybe someone will chime in with the details.
    "In the heart of Arkansas."
    Searcy, Arkansas
    1952 Commander 2 door. Really fine 259.
    1952 2R pickup

Comment

See this thread for hood opening info: http://forum.studebakerdriversclub.c...-Release-Cable

As far as what to do to try out the engine, I think that you should squirt a little "Sea Foam", or at least some motor oil into the spark plug holes and let it sit for a few hours before you try to turn it over.
      John
      1950 Champion
      W-3 4 Dr. Sedan
      Holdrege NE

Comment