52 into a 51 bullet nose

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 52 into a 51 bullet nose

Hi I am new to studebakers, i fell for them after i saw my uncles 59 and 61 hawks. i cant afford one but i found a nice 52 champion for a good price but love the 50 and 51 bullet nose.

I found a 51 for parts

question how hard would it be to put a 50 or 51 bullet nose on a 52

thanks. p.s i live in michigan and do not see many studs around.. also any good places for body parts?

dave

Without any direct experience, I would assume that the front clips would be interchangeable. If you find a 50, make sure it's a Champion, the Commander is different. In 51 they are the same.

[img=left]http://www.alink.com/personal/tbredehoft/Bothcars.jpg[/img=left]
    Tom Bredehoft
    '53 Commander Coupe
    '60 Lark VI
    '05 Legacy Ltd Wagon
    All three Indiana built OD cars

Comment

I was thinking of doing the same thing to my 52 Commander, but I decided to keep it as a 52. I think the 51 front clip will bolt on, but I don't think that either the 50 Champion or 50 Commander front clips will work. They both had different wheelbases than the 51-52.

Leonard Shepherd, editor, The Commanding Leader, Central Virginia Chapter, http://centralvirginiachapter.org/

Comment

There have been a few 52 K body (hardtop) cars converted to bulletnoses with the 51 front end. Very nice looking. If you like the look of the 50, you can use a 51 front clip and a 50 bullet.

Comment

Leonard is correct; only the '51 clip will work and it requires everything from the cowl forward.

Brad Johnson
          Pine Grove Mills, Pa.
          '33 Rockne 10, '51 Commander Starlight, '53 Commander Starlight
          Brad Johnson,
          SDC since 1975, ASC since 1990
          Pine Grove Mills, Pa.
          '33 Rockne 10, '51 Commander Starlight. '53 Commander Starlight
          '56 Sky Hawk in process

Comment

Where in Mi?

Comment