• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Day 2 with Grace -- On the Road

Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
    Grantville, PA

I'm not a mechanic; I don't even play one on TV.

First off, disconnect the battery tonight to avoid drain. I can't remember if it was a delco reg? They usually are easy adjustable.
    Anyway, remove the cover and you will see the big set of points on the end, with a bendable tang above the contacts. You will see
    the air gap in the points. Bend the tang, ever so slightly, to close the points a few thousands. start and see if it starts charging, (points will close) if
    so, then turn off and be sure the points open again. Ideally after batt charges, the points will open at idle. This is all an (on the road fix).

Comment

Hi Tex (Flashback),

The battery is disconnected...because it is sitting on the floor of our hotel room hooked up to a battery charger (yeah, I packed one of them, too). The regulator is a Delco-Remy 3 coil unit. Regarding the old regulator, it was the points on the cutout relay (the one that connects to the BAT terminal) that had a lot of material transfer (like you get on ignition points). That's the one with the contacts that are normally open. The current regulator (connected to the GEN terminal) is normally closed as is the voltage regulator (connected to FIELD). The points on those 2 looked fine. Since we were hot and tired, when we arrived at the hotel, we unpacked our luggage (and this laptop), took the battery out, and covered the car. I figured I'd take the regulator out in the morning when I found a point file. So I guess you're telling me that it is the cutout relay whose contacts have to be adjusted? Is that right? And if so, are you saying that with too large a contact gap, the electromagnetic coil doesn't have enough pull to close the contacts?

I await your reply (or one from anyone else) with bated breath. No, I think that would be "baited" breath; I had shrimp for dinner tonight.
      Kindest regards,