A arm bushing install question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A arm bushing install question

Can anyone give me an idea how long it takes to install upper and lower a arm bushings? It's a bigger job than I want to tackle not having a lift, and my mechanic hasn't done them in so long he can't give me a good idea how long it will take.
    Chip
    '63 Cruiser
    '57 Packard wagon
    '61 Lark Regal 4 dr wagon
    '50 Commander 4 dr sedan

It took me about 12 hours of disassembly / reassembly time. That's not counting time to press in new kingpin bushings or repaint any components. Of course, it's the first time I'd ever done it, and I'm no professional, so maybe he'd get finished faster.

Clark in San Diego | '63 Standard (F2) "Barney" | http://studeblogger.blogspot.com

Comment

You can speed the process up if you get another set of wishbones ready to go. Then it's just a case of swapping them over.
      pb

Comment

This is an iffy job. If you don't mind just popping the old out and slapping in new without cleaning up and painting things, it is a weekend job. If you are anal like me you will spend more time watching paint dry than doing anything.

Comment

Originally posted by alan View Post
          if you are anal like me you will spend more time watching paint dry than doing anything.
          btdt!!!!

Clark in San Diego | '63 Standard (F2) "Barney" | http://studeblogger.blogspot.com

Comment

About 4-5 hours if you are going to use air chisels, bushing drivers, punches and BFH's and not disassemble anything, also have it looking just as ugly as it was before!

It will drive the same either way! Not recommending this method, nor do I do it that way. Just say'in, I've seen it done.
            StudeRich
            Second Generation Stude Driver,
            Proud '54 Starliner Owner
            SDC Member Since 1967

Comment