289 ENGINE and TRANSMISSION REBUILD

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 289 ENGINE and TRANSMISSION REBUILD

[SIZE="2"]I have just purchased my first Studebaker, a 1962 GT Hawk.
    My goal for this cool car is to reuild and upgrade the necessary components to provide a presentable and reliable daily driver, both city and highway (80 mph).

My first project will be rebuilding and upgrading the engine and transmission. It must be said at this time that I am not a technical mechanic. However, I can turn wrenches and somewhat understand what and why things need to be done.

ENGINE:
    • 289 2 barrel, stock
    • Compression - around 110 all cylinders
    • Goal: Rebuild (bore?) the block with quality parts. (pistons, bearings, etc.) QUESTION: What should be done and where can I get the parts?
    • Upgrade intake, carb and ignition with newer parts. QUESTION: What has been done with others and what works best?
    • Other add-ons that improve reliability and performance. MY THOUGHTS: eg: fuel pump,air cleaner, heads (on the rebuild), charging system, water pump, etc. YOUR THOUGHTS: Anything that has been done and proven.
    TRANSMISSION:
    • Stock 2-speed automatic (no overdrive)
    • Goal: Rebuild and/or upgrade to provide performance and dependability. QUESTION: What needs to be done here? I have no idea on how this goal can be achieved.
    Feel free to contact me through any means.
    Greg McLean
    P.O. Box 3151,
    Regina, SK,
    Canada, S4P 3G7

In advance, "thanks everybody"

The Hawk

Just to bring you up to speed, you actually have a 3 spd auto, it just seems like
    a 2 spd because it starts in 2nd gear. If you manually select 1st, you will be a
    pleasently surprised driver as to the extra "giggy-up" your Hawk just found.

Tom
    '63 Avanti R1, '03 Mustang Cobra 13" front disc/98 GT rear brakes, 03 Cobra 17" wheels, GM alt, 97 Z28 leather seats, TKO 5-spd, Ported heads w/SST full flow valves.