Studebaker Speedster???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Studebaker Speedster???

I would like to build an early American Speedster 1908 or so to 1920 or so. Has anyone ever seen a Studebaker speedster or have a picture they could post??
    The next question would be, how difficult would it be to find a rolling chassis with running gear?

I am looking at building a Model T speedster but thought a Studebaker would be a bit larger and nicer looking. I am new to the Studebaker world so I do not know wheelbases or other important info, yet.
    Thanks for any help or advice,
    Martin

Cooke,
    Welcome to the Forum.
    On occasion, someone will post information about a chassis and cab, or even a near complete example, of that vintage.
    Few of us even consider jumping on it, knowing it would be an extreme and financially prohibitive restoration.
    Turning one of these in to a Speedster would actually reduce the "restoration" pressure.

I'm sure Richard Quinn has more information than you would ever need and will no doubt be posting a response here shortly.
    Brad Johnson,
    SDC since 1975, ASC since 1990
    Pine Grove Mills, Pa.
    '33 Rockne 10, '51 Commander Starlight. '53 Commander Starlight
    '56 Sky Hawk in process

Comment

Might ask Gary Ash about the early speedsters also. He is building a similar nehicle and might have some pics and info he would share with you. Steve
      sigpic

Comment

Gary is building a 32'

Also there was an early 20's rolling chassis on ebay recently maybe check completed listings and contact the owner.
        John

62' Deluxe R2 4SPD.

63' R1 Wagonaire

57' Transtar 259 punched to 312 NP540 4:09 TT Under Construction

58' 3E6D Stock 4X4

64' (Studebaker Built) Trailer Toter

Comment

Unless Gary is tackling two projects, he is attempting to repro the Indianapolis 500 race car; not quite what I would characterize as a Speedster.
          Brad Johnson,
          Pine Grove Mills, Pa.