X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I've got no power captain!

Hello all,

This is my first post and my first stude! I would appreciate some pro advice. I'm not a real mechanic but I love pidling with my hawk! Any advice would be great. Here's the low-down:

I'm fixing up a 57 Silverhawk w/289 and 3speed standard w/O.D. The problem I have is no power in 1st gear. It feels like I'm pulling out in 2nd gear or something. It almost stalls. However, when I throw it in reverse it feels like I have enough power to pull a hill. I happen to live at the bottom of a steep hill and I don't want to back up it everytime I want to CRUZE!

Since I've had the car I've made a few modifications I should mention: New Plugs/Wires, NOS Delco Ditributor w/Pertronix Module under the cap, Offenhauser Aluminum Intake, Edelbrock 500cfm Performer Carb, Electric Fuel Pump, and Offenhauser Valve Covers (No Breather).

The fuel system is clean and the timing seems to be dead on. I did have to move the plug wires one space to get the vacuum advance off the firewall. I did not rebuild the engine. It has good compression, doesn't smoke, and sounds grrreat!

I'm thinking maybe vacuum related or fuel pressure maybe but I'm not ruling out timing. Can anyone tell me the correct vacuum setup with the edelbrock carb? I have little time to troubleshoot with three kids running around and it's making me crazy!!! Any ideas? Thanks.

-57 silverhawk

The vacuum line should hook up to the RH port (passenger side) on the Edelbrock carb. You should have vacuum at that port when the throttle is open, and very little, if any, when the throttle is closed.
    Your engine should have good vacuum at idle (readung that at the center,or right port on the carb).
    Keep your diagnosis simple, as this is not a complicated piece of machinery.
    First thing I would check is the shift linkage.