PDA

View Full Version : 48 CHAMPION

48stud
06-13-2006, 08:26 AM
I HAVE BEEN RESTORING MY CHAMPION I AM NEW TO THESE STUDES I HAVE JUST REPLACED MY EXHAUST MAN. NEW GASKETS NEW THERMASTAT GOT RADIATOR REDONE FLUSHED SYSTEM HOW DO I KNOW IF COOLANT IS GETTING TO THE BLOCK MY TEMP GAUGE IS BROKEN IT ALWAYS READS 212 I DONT KNOW IF ITS JUST ME BUT IT SEEMS THAT THE MOTOR HEATS UP FAST AND HOT IHAVE ADDED 2 GALS OF COOLANT CAN SOMEONE HELP?

CHAMP
06-13-2006, 10:19 AM
First thing to do is find out how hot it is really getting. Any kind of thermometer that you can stick in rad. fill hole. next you need to check for leaks. Could be anything from rad. cap to hoses, rad. itself, freeze plugs etc. Champ

Roscomacaw
06-13-2006, 02:37 PM
You need a "Candy" thermometer. It's range goes high enough to reflect the coolant temp. A meat or outdoor thermometer won't get it.

Take the radiator cap off (with extreme caution if the engine's alreay hot!) and insert the thermometer. You might note if coolant can be seen to be flowing under the cap. It ought to be visibly flowing or swirling if the engine's up to temp. IF not, and the engine's hot, probably your thermostat isn't opening OR (worst case scenario)there's a blockage somewhere or the water pump isn't pumping[xx(]

Miscreant at large.

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
1960 Larkvertible V8
1958 Provincial wagon
1953 Commander coupe
1957 President 2-dr
1955 President State
1951 Champion Biz cpe
1963 Daytona project FS

ROADRACELARK
06-13-2006, 03:07 PM
Bob,
If my memory is "on line" today, that car has a mechanical temp. guage right[?] Seems I remember from one green w/black fenders M-16 that I got from this Stude nut [:o)] in Smyrna. Do you remember that guy???:D
Dan

ROADRACELARK
06-13-2006, 03:14 PM