This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Commander motors

Is it possible to replace a 1938 Commander motor with a Commander motor from a 1960 champ pickup? I would transfer all the relative parts to the newer engine. As the pistons, bearings, valves are the same can I assume
    the block is close enough to work?
    Thanks,
    Chuck Collins

I believe the block itself was unchanged from 1932 through 1961.
    Brad Johnson,
    SDC since 1975, ASC since 1990
    Pine Grove Mills, Pa.
    '33 Rockne 10, '51 Commander Starlight. '53 Commander Starlight
    '56 Sky Hawk in process

Comment

quote:Originally posted by cstude1

Is it possible to replace a 1938 Commander motor with a Commander motor from a 1960 champ pickup? I would transfer all the relative parts to the newer engine. As the pistons, bearings, valves are the same can I assume
      the block is close enough to work?
      Thanks,
      Chuck Collins
      Chuck, I'm no expert on Commander engines, but I do know that that the rear main oil seal was changed between the 226 and the 245. I don't know if they also changed the rear main cap where the oil pan seats, but they MIGHT have. In which case, if the swap entails swapping oil pans, it might not work readily. If I were in your position, I'd be wanting to ensure that one CAN swap oil pans before getting too far into this.

I suppose if there is a difference in oil pans, that one could move the sump on the later pan to make it fit the '38 chassis. Involves a lot more work, though.

I'm pretty sure Pat McKenna in Edmonton successfully swapped a 245 into a '40 Commander, so chances are your swap is also practical.