X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 259 cu. tune up questions...

Howdy all,

I'm getting ready to do some basic tune-up stuff on my 259 cu. (which I believe is from a '59 Lark -it's in my '50 2R p/u). I plan on changing plugs, cap/rotor/condenser, etc. and have a couple of questions...

-Does anyone have any preference as to what type (brand/part#) of plug to use in this motor?

-What should the timing be set at? Points gap?

-Anyone know what the normal impedance of a spark plug wire should be? I'd like to check these with my volt meter, as I'm a little suspect of the ones that are in there and may want to replace these as well.

Any other words of wisdom you might want to interject would definitely be welcome. I'm a bit of a novice mechanic and I'm new to Studes, so I need all the help I can get!

Thanks in advance,
    Boardhoarder

Boardhoarder, I think points are to be set at .018 to .022, however I've always had good luck using a cardboard matchbook cover. I think that is close to .018. I always set the timing right to the timing mark exactly until I finish adjusting the carb mixture and idle, then advance the timing 3 - 7 degrees by ear. My last set of plugs were NKG, and I have been pretty happy with them, but I don't want to make a recommedation on plugs because A) nobody is paying me for it, and B) I haven't tried all of them yet.

Comment

Thanks much for your input, Whacker.

Anyone else care to chime in?

Comment

Just basic tune up stuff...
        Set your dwell (points) first...
        Then set the timing.
        Then the carb (idle and vacuum)
        Jeff[8D]

HTIH (Hope The Info Helps)

Jeff

Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please. Mark Twain

Note: SDC# 070190 (and earlier...)

Comment