This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What it might be worth ?

Hello, I am new to the world of Studebakers. I have come upon a 55 president 2dr sedan in fair shape. Its all there, engine runs(took me 4hrs to get it to run),brakes shot,trans will not move car. Body semi straight and trim dented and dinged as expected for a 50 year old. I think body lines are very nice and would like to make an offer on this car but I don't know what a fair starting offer would be and do not want to insult the owner and jeopardize my opportunity at first bid. Any input would help.

Your description "2 door sedan" surprised me. I do not find any listing that Studebaker made one and I've never seen one. Maybe someone else has more complete references. AFAIK the President was only made in the 4 door sedan, 2 door coupes or hardtop.
    What does the body tag on the firewall read?
    If that has a "C" on the tag it is a posted coupe, if it has a "K" it is a hardtop "coupe".
    This can make a good bit of difference in the value.

Dale McPhearson
    INDY Chapter
    Brickyard Bulletin
    sigpic
    Lark Parker --Just an innocent possum strolling down life's highway.

Comment

Thanks for responding Dale. There is a plate under the hood with the numbers 6HC5 over 3016. I suspect these # are for options and build #.
      I forgot to write down the serial # from the plate on the door. I hope this info helps.

Comment

The 6H indicates 1955 President.
        C5 is a 5 passenger coupe (not a hardtop) with the Regal and State (fanciest) trim. The numbers are the body number. The serial number will be on a plate on the drivers door forward jamb. Studebaker often use a capital "I" for the number one wnen stamping.