PDA

View Full Version : Shortblock 232 problem



pszikszai
12-25-2005, 07:25 AM
Merry christmas and happy new year.

Winter in South Bend.
I can't do much else than work on engines and
mechanical stuff.
I dragged out the last 232 shortblock I have and started to
build it up.
Cylinder #7 has about 1" by 1 1/2" rust spot (pin holes).
It is not deep it all.
My first impulse is to have it re-sleeved.
Second option is to bore that cylinder and install a larger piston.
Third is to just clean it up and re assemble.
Has anyone been faced with a similiar problem?
What suggestions do you have as I never had this problem before.
Thanks.
Paul

DEEPNHOCK
12-25-2005, 08:25 AM
You are going to get the result you pay for Paul..
* Probably the most bestest way (a Stude term;))would be to bore them all and put bigger pistons and rings in..
Then re-balance the whole thing...
* The second bestest way;) would be to bore the cylinder for a sleeve and use all your original pistons and not have to re-balance...
* The el-cheapo way[:0] would be to bore the one cylinder out and put in one bigger piston. Save your old piston and rings and make sure your new piston and rings weight exactly the same as the old one. Then you could probably skate by on the re-balance issue. You might feel the one cylinder's extra power as a slight vibration, but...as a 232...probably not. Maybe just set the intake valve a couple thousandths loose on that one cylinder and ignore the click..
Jeff[8D]



quote:Originally posted by pszikszai

Merry christmas and happy new year.
Winter in South Bend.
I can't do much else than work on engines and
mechanical stuff.
I dragged out the last 232 shortblock I have and started to
build it up.
Cylinder #7 has about 1" by 1 1/2" rust spot (pin holes).
It is not deep it all.
My first impulse is to have it re-sleeved.
Second option is to bore that cylinder and install a larger piston.
Third is to just clean it up and re assemble.
Has anyone been faced with a similiar problem?
What suggestions do you have as I never had this problem before.
Thanks.
Paul


DEEPNHOCK at Cox.net
'37 Coupe Express
'37 Coupe Express Trailer
'61 Hawk
http://community.webshots.com/photo/42559113/426827941Lsvfrz
http://community.webshots.com/user/deepnhock

whacker
12-25-2005, 06:39 PM
How far would you have to bore it to clean it up? If you are going to replace the pistons anyway, maybe you can have them all bored the same. .020 or .030 oversize wouldn't cost much at most machine shops.