PDA

View Full Version : 57 Silver Hawk Engine Problems

57slvrhwk6
11-05-2005, 02:18 PM
Hello, I'm new to Studebakers and recently acquired a 57 Silver Hawk, 6-cyl, manual with no overdrive. The engine runs pretty well but seems a little tired, leaks oil and kicks out a continuous trail of gray smoke even when warm.

I've been thinking about pulling the 6-cyl and replacing it with an 8-cyl (259 or 289, either would be fine) with auto trans or manual with overdrive if I can find a donor car with good engine & trans. Since finding another 57 Silver Hawk donor car with a good engine and trans is limiting, I was wondering if anyone has any other suggestions as to models to look for that would be a good candidate for the swap (I understand there may be issues with the 57 drive shaft and rear seat floor pans). I'd like to drive the car at least a couple of times a week, with some freeway driving. Any feedback at all about this is welcomed.

JDP
11-05-2005, 03:18 PM
Any V8 donar car will give you most of what you need.(many 4 doors Larks have given their life for that purpose.):) You can run a one piece driveshaft without a lot of work.

Studebaker On The Net http://stude.com
64 GT Hawk
64 R2 4 speed Challenger
63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk
53 Street rod

Scott
11-05-2005, 05:32 PM
My first Studebaker 15+ years ago was a 1957 silver hawk with the 6 cylinder and an automatic transmission. Talk about little pep. But, one thing you can do is get a higher compression flat head for it. I did that and I could definitely feel the difference. I can't remember if that was before or after I had the engine rebuilt.