This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Generator replacement

How hard is it to replace a generator with an alternator in a 62 Hawk? I have had them rebulid my generator twice and it is not putting out any current. I`ve also replaced the regulator twice also.
    Some body please help me. The wife wants me to sell my car and get
    a newer one. That ain`t gonna happen. There is just too many people out there with a vast amount of knowledge. So please help me. I`m in so. cal. not far from Magic Mountain. If anyone knows someone my way who is experienced with generators let me know. Thanks Dan

62 GT Hawk

Dan, I'm only a shade tree mechanic. I had a problem , grounds: battery to seloniod,seloniod to starter. block to battery, and I think block to frame. I polished those suckers with fine steel wool from wall mart or the hardware store. Once I had excellent connection my car ran ,charged and had super lights. Also have you polorized the generator/regulator?

Comment

Danweb, this is probably a shadetree opinion, too, so take it with a grain of salt. I know someone with a 55 Commander, who said their car was not firing too well, until they changed the generator pulley to a smaller diameter. That change caused the generator to turn more revolutions with each engine revolution, putting out more voltage for the plugs. Something to consider, anyway.

1955 1/2 Ton Pickup

Paul Simpson
      "DilloCrafter"

1955 1/2 Ton Pickup
      The Red-Headed Amazon
      Deep in the heart of Texas

Comment

It's a pretty easy swap by my standards. But let's approach this logically. Have you had the "shop" test the generator after it's been shown not to charge on your Hawk? OR, is this the sort of "rebuild" where you take it to a parts store and they send it off to be rebuilt? (Thereby denying you the ability to deal directly with the rebuilders)