This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lark wagon production

Hello. I'm new to Studebakers, I have a 59 Lark 2 door wagon. It has a 259 with a 3 speed manual. The serial number is 59V33925. My question is, is this a factory V8 car? Also, how many of these cars were made? Thanks for any help or information, I know very little about Studebakers.

The V after the 59 in that serial number proves it to be a V8 car from the factory.
    There was a total of 7,797 V8 Lark wagons built. The bulk of them (7,419) were of the D6 "Regal" trim level (which is what yours probably is) and the other 378 were D4 "Deluxe" trim level for export.

There were 18,912 6cylinder wagons built. 13,227 Deluxe trim and 5,685 Regal trim.[^]
    The '59 Lark put Studebaker back in the black after a string of red-ink years. But they doomed to fail even WITH the momentary success of the Lark.[V]

Miscreant at large.

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
    1960 Larkvertible V8
    1958 Provincial wagon
    1953 Commander coupe
    1957 President 2-dr
    1955 President State
    1951 Champion Biz cpe
    1963 Daytona project FS
    No deceptive flags to prove I'm patriotic - no biblical BS to impress - just ME and Studebakers - as it should be.

Comment

Great information Mr. Biggs, thank you very much!

Comment

Not much wonder they still failed,it certainly wasn't that there was anything wrong with the Lark.
        They failed cause the whole industry saw what a great idea a small on the outside/big on the inside car was and jumped on the bandwagon.
        Thus the Falcon,Valiant,Corvair.....and the big boys had the finances to get into price wars that Studebaker just couldn't match.

Comment

The thing about the Falcon, Corvair, Valiant, etc, was they were really not big cars on the inside. I mean, the Lark was the same inside as Studebaker's big cars, just with some length lopped off. Sit inside a Falcon then a Lark and you'll see how much difference that makes.