PDA

View Full Version : suspended gas pedal



cosmo
08-10-2005, 11:34 AM
was wondering if anyone has put a suspended gas pedal in there stude. I put in a webber carb and the throttle likage is different. I have modified it to work, I just dont get the full throttle cause I have no more adjustment in my modification.
so I was thinking of a suspended pedal with a cable linkage. Should give me what I'm looking for.
Any opinions?

Dick Steinkamp
08-10-2005, 11:41 AM
quote:Originally posted by cosmo

was wondering if anyone has put a suspended gas pedal in there stude.


A suspended pedal and cable linkage out of a late 70's early 80's GM mid sized car works well for me in my modified '54 Starliner. They are simple and easy to install in the car. Less linkage to worry about and get sloppy. I'm not sure it will solve your full throttle problem, however. The problem may be with the length of the lever arm where the throttle rod (or cable) attaches to the carb. This arm may need to be shorter.

-Dick-

Mike Van Veghten
08-10-2005, 12:15 PM
Yep.... I've done the same thing. There's million different pedel designs from the 70's/90's cars. Short ram lenghts and long arm lenghts. Buy several and fit them to your car. From the wrecking yards, there only a few bucks each.
By the way...if full throttle is your problem...a longer pedel arm is required.

cosmo
08-10-2005, 12:31 PM
I did the longer pedal arm and it worked, just not the way I would like it. I'm very peticular on how things work, and I try to get them to work almost exactly the way I want. Notice I said "almost"

cosmo
08-10-2005, 12:34 PM
I did the longer pedal arm and it worked, just not the way I would like it. I'm very peticular on how things work, and I try to get them to work almost exactly the way I want. Notice I said "almost". By the way Mike that rear end, not a 410 not even 411 the thing is a 487. WOW.. Think I'm really going to need to slap in a v8 for that one. Not to sure howw my 6 will handle.

Roscomacaw
08-10-2005, 01:49 PM
Heh - your 6 will LOVE that 4.87 for take-offs! But your top end's gonna be about 50MPH at best! (With no OD, that is)[}:)]

In the 65-66 models, Stude used what was, in essence, a suspended pedal sort of linkage. Notice I said "sort of" as it still had a pedal pad that was attached to the floor. But instead of the throttle rod going thru a hole in the floor as before, the top of the pedal worked against a lever that was mounted to the firewall. 6cyl linkage configuration was quite different from V8 but still worked in the same manner.
[^]

Miscreant at large.

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
1960 Larkvertible V8
1958 Provincial wagon
1953 Commander coupe
1957 President 2-dr
1955 President State
1951 Champion Biz cpe
1963 Daytona project FS

cosmo
08-10-2005, 02:01 PM
Biggs, I put in a 5 speed from a chevy s-10, so how would that change things with the rear end if I put the 487, what would my top speed be?

Mike Van Veghten
08-10-2005, 02:47 PM
Hmm, very interesting ratio.
It cam out of my stock Conestoga with the original flat head 6.
I know the engine was original, I fought the DVM for almost three months about the engine / body numbers.

It ran fine, city streets (no overdrive) or freeways (overdrive).
As a matter of fact, it ran WAY better with that setup than than it's current 3.90 ratio. No power to pull it.

It all depends on all of the ratios in the trans. If the overdrive is close to the BW three speed OD in the Stude, the freeway speeds should be fine. The first gear should also be very workable. Even with the stock trans, and flat head, and 3.90 gear in my car, it's more picky about when the overdrive is kicked in (faster speed is required), and a little slipping of the clutch to start is required, it's not all that bad. Beside, a hot rod 300 cu in V-8 is comming, so it helps with dealing with the slightly unusal stuff! Drive it, it won't be bad at all.

cosmo
08-10-2005, 02:52 PM
well I guess I'm just gonna have to find the time to make the swap and see how it goes.

dclewallen
08-10-2005, 05:18 PM
On this pedal swapping topic, I'd eventualy like to move the master cylinder in my 53 Starliner from under the floor to the firewall like later model cars. I'm sure it's been done but is there a "best" way for a Studebaker using certain type or year components? Thanks

Darryl C. Lewallen

DEEPNHOCK
08-10-2005, 05:43 PM
Ray Fichthorn in Winston/Salem NC has done a couple of neat master cylinder swaps on Hawks that utilize a neat remote full master cylinder. I'd suggest that upgrade vs all the bracing and fabricating you'd need to do to add suspended pedals and master on the firewall...

I have a late GM master and a hydraulic hydroboost power brake setup on my truck, and it all fits under the floor just fine.. 4 wheel power disk brakes are nice.
Jeff[8D]




quote:Originally posted by dclewallen

On this pedal swapping topic, I'd eventualy like to move the master cylinder in my 53 Starliner from under the floor to the firewall like later model cars. I'm sure it's been done but is there a "best" way for a Studebaker using certain type or year components? Thanks
Darryl C. Lewallen


DEEPNHOCK at Cox.net
'37 Coupe Express
'37 Coupe Express Trailer
'61 Hawk
http://community.webshots.com/user/deepnhock

Mike Van Veghten
08-10-2005, 06:28 PM
I left mine (master cylinder) under the floor too. Works great.

Wilwood 1" piston, remote resurvour (spl.) mastercylinder, home made bracket, resurvour mounted to the fenderwell near the firewall.
No power booster needed. Hooks to the stock pedal assembly, in the stock location. Also used the stock holes in the frame to bolt the bracket to. Very simple and clean, no "extra" junk under the hood.
Pushes on four wheel discs, very happy with it.

People with firewall mounted cylinders pay good money to hide'um!

Danarchy
08-10-2005, 07:26 PM
"People with firewall mounted cylinders pay good money to hide'um!":):D that made me laugh!

1960 LARK(4-Door)V8/Deluxe Wagon
Dallas,Texas

Mike Van Veghten
08-10-2005, 08:49 PM
Up under the dash, in the trunk (little cylinder pushes big cylinder), the hydraulic truck units (run off of the power steering pressure) that are being used as a custom...use anywhere brake cylinder.
How much does one want to spend?