PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with lots o' questions

Evets
08-06-2005, 02:35 PM
I'm glad I found this site, hope I can find some answers. My cousin and I are about to start working on his father-in-law's '64 Daytona Convertible. I haven't seen the car yet, but I'm told it's in good shape for it's year. It hasn't been driven in about 10 years. I know it's a 289. Am I right in thinking this is a Ford 289? How easy or difficult is it to find parts? Also, by reading through this forum, I'm sensing that the number of variables involved in working on these cars is very high. My first goal is to make it run again. Is there anything I should look out for specifically? I'm not new to car repair, and I'm not afraid to tackle something for the first time, but I'm not a mechanic either. Any advice would be appreciated.

KevinSheen
08-06-2005, 03:52 PM
Welcome to our world, Evets! No its not a Ford. Stude made a 289 also. The engine serial number can be found on the top front right (as you are looking at it from the front of the car) on a flat machined space. You and/or your cousin should join the SDC. There are so many people in the club who can help a newbie out. I just joined in March with my first Studebaker and everyone has been extremely helpful. Good luck and keep us posted. Kevin in the Stoogebaker

1963 Champ

rockne10
08-06-2005, 05:18 PM
I've been in SDC for thirty years and one issue of Turning Wheels will give you more resources than you can possibly imagine and more than any of us would have the time to impart here.

You've picked a realistic first project and if you have any immediate specifics, let 'em fly.

I would suggestyou get the shop manual and body and chassis catalogs, available from most Studebaker vendors or find them on ebay. I think the three new reprints will set you back $125.[:0] They are also vailable on CD-ROM for $25 each.

Welcome![8D]

Evets
08-06-2005, 06:48 PM