PDA

View Full Version : Gasoline

Rekabeduts
07-30-2005, 07:31 PM
I've been using 93 octane Chevron gas in my 64 Hawk for a few years, and it has run fine. Recently, someone with a 63 Vette told me that the Techron additive in Chevron was bad for older engines, and recommended Sunoco (in South Florida). I'm not inclined to change gas, but was wondering....any opinions on Chevron vs. Sunoco (93). The one thing I do avoid is Methanol/10% blended gas.

Hank

curt
07-30-2005, 07:38 PM
Congress passed or is considering, ethanol in gas, withouy coustomer knowledge. They have to sell the corn byproduct and say energy savings. All the expertis I have spoken to say corn-ethonal is a net consumer of energy.:(

DEEPNHOCK
07-31-2005, 06:27 AM
quote:Originally posted by Rekabeduts

I've been using 93 octane Chevron gas in my 64 Hawk for a few years, and it has run fine. Recently, someone with a 63 Vette told me that the Techron additive in Chevron was bad for older engines, and recommended Sunoco (in South Florida). I'm not inclined to change gas, but was wondering....any opinions on Chevron vs. Sunoco (93). The one thing I do avoid is Methanol/10% blended gas.

Hank

DEEPNHOCK at Cox.net
'37 Coupe Express
'37 Coupe Express Trailer
'61 Hawk
http://community.webshots.com/user/deepnhock

Roscomacaw
07-31-2005, 01:15 PM
Heh - it TAKES more energy to produce ethanol than the ethanol itself yields.[xx(] Another guvamint boondoggle to subsidize farmers and expect us to pay for it.
I think the story you were given about Techron is not worth worrying about.:D

Miscreant at large.

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
1960 Larkvertible V8
1958 Provincial wagon
1953 Commander coupe
1957 President 2-dr
1955 President State
1951 Champion Biz cpe
1963 Daytona project FS

DEEPNHOCK
07-31-2005, 07:51 PM
While it may well be true that it takes more energy to make one gallon of ethonol vs. 1 gallon of gasoline.....today...
But.....
You can grow another gallons worth of corn over and over again...