PDA

View Full Version : 37 dictator

fh929
06-26-2005, 09:38 PM
I need to change the coil on my 37. I have the shop manual
but it does not tell me how it is wired. as you can tell I am not very good at this. the new coil has a + and - but the old one does not. which wire goes where? being pos. ground I would think the wire to the distributator would go on the -?
been having trouble geting the car to start. seems to have no spark. I have changed the plugs, points, cond. , rotor. while checking the coil, I found a loose wire. while trying to fix it the screw broke off !![V] so now I have to replace. any help will be great. thanks

Dwain G.
06-27-2005, 12:17 PM
I'm not particularly knowledgable on pre-war cars, but I think your Dictator originally had a coil with the ignition wire inside an armored cable to the switch. So there was only one small wire terminal at the coil, and it went to the distributor. On a modern coil with two primary terminals, and being used on a positive ground system, The ignition (hot) wire goes to the coil (-) and the distributor wire goes to coil (+). You could say that since the battery cables are 'reversed', so are the coil wires.

Dwain G.

fh929
06-27-2005, 06:19 PM
Thanks for the info. I had it wired right. But it still will not start. I have changed everything. Not sure what to do next. I can't find any one here that knows the "old" cars. have been thinking of updating to a newer studebaker Frank H.

Dwain G.
06-27-2005, 08:07 PM
Well, where did this new coil come from, and does it have any numbers on it? Do you have a simple test light to check a few things with?

Dwain G.

fh929
06-28-2005, 10:24 PM
I was given a used coil that was known to be good. The numbers are prestolite 200627. it has been painted and that is the best I can see. I don't have a test light I can get one though.

Dwain G.
06-28-2005, 11:28 PM