PDA

View Full Version : dim lights

benny_64
06-13-2005, 09:52 PM
my head lights, brake lights and blinkers are really dim, i can hardly see the rear blinkers. could this be a bad ground or just a combination of old lights and lenses?

slow64
bd_marks@yahoo.com

curt
06-13-2005, 10:28 PM
I'm new to Studebakers, but on Kaisers the ground and clean, clean connections every where is the route to go. That includes engine to body straps too.

Alan
06-13-2005, 10:45 PM
Run a Voltage drop test

Roscomacaw
06-13-2005, 11:34 PM
Does your ammeter indicate your car's charging system is charging well?
On your taillights and front parking lites - take the lenses out, then the bulbs, then stuff a wad of masking tape in the bulb socket and tape off the outer chrome and spray paint the insides of the fixtures with flat white paint. Makes a big differnce in the brightness of the lites. The chrome plating inside (assuming it's even intact anymore) is a piss-poor reflector of light from the bulb. The White tho, reflects ALL the light thru the lens! You'll be amazed at the change.
This is a good fix on 6volt cars too![:0]

Miscreant at large.

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
1960 Larkvertible V8
1958 Provincial wagon
1953 Commander coupe
1957 President 2-dr
1955 President State
1951 Champion Biz cpe
1963 Daytona project FS

benny_64
06-13-2005, 11:54 PM
my ammeter shows that everything is charging great, i will definatly try repainting them this weekend, and try cleaning up some connections.

slow64
bd_marks@yahoo.com

studegary
06-14-2005, 02:43 PM
[quote]Originally posted by Mr.Biggs
spray paint the insides of the fixtures with flat white paint. Makes a big differnce in the brightness of the lites. The chrome plating inside (assuming it's even intact anymore) is a piss-poor reflector of light from the bulb. The White tho, reflects ALL the light thru the lens! You'll be amazed at the change.
This is a good fix on 6volt cars too![:0]