This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 259 or 289?

I am going to be viewing a '62 Hawk for sale that is described as having a rebuilt 259 motor bored out to a 289. While I am told this is not even physically possible, how does one tell the difference between the two with the motor in the car? I'm new to the Studebaker world, having been held incommunicado in the Edsel and Kaiser world for the last 35 years.

Sure it is possible to turn a 259 into a 289, however it's not a matter of "boring it out" because they have the same bore. The 289 has a longer stroke than the 259; the engines are basically the same with the exception of the crank and pistons. Easiest way to determine would be to pull the plugs, turn the engine over by hand, and measure the stroke.

FWIW it is also possible to put a fairly healthy overbore on either engine as well, .060" plus should be fine on most blocks (assuming no core shift)

If the block started off as a 259, it probably isn't the original engine in the car, I didn't think you could get a '62 Hawk with a 259? (someone please correct me if I'm wrong here) I don't know if that is important to you or not.

nate

--
    55 Commander Starlight
    62 Daytona hardtop
    --
    55 Commander Starlight
    http://members.cox.net/njnagel

Comment

This car is on EBAY. If you look at the photo of the engine it looks like on the valve cover it says Bearcat, or something like that. What does that mean?

Comment

Bearcat was a name they chose to use for the 259 engines in 1955. Fact is (I looked at the car via ebay just now) those valve covers are wrong for this Hawk. Maybe the engine's from a 55 or maybe just the valve covers are - who knows[?]