PDA

View Full Version : valve Adjustment

curt
05-23-2005, 08:56 PM
I'm new to Studebakers. The V8 , 1959 , 259 engine is mechanical valves????
Hot or cold Adjustment? I see some specs cold and some hot. What is best hot or cold, in your opinion?[?]

studegary
05-23-2005, 10:01 PM
Yes, it has mechanical lifters. The factory recommended hot adjustment. Many adjust cold and just allow for the metal expansion with heat. I prefer hot, but you will probably get answers for both - hot and cold.

Sonny
05-23-2005, 11:48 PM
I'm stayin' out'a this one.....[B)]:D

Sonny
http://RacingStudebakers.com

Mike Van Veghten
05-24-2005, 09:25 AM
Not a big deal, they both work if done right.

If done hot....you do one side, start the engine to rewarm....do the other side.

I do it cold, much easier, no burns. The .0005 difference that "may" show up between valves....will show up if you're not very, super carefull anyway. And thats .0005 (not .005!) isn't anything that will do any harm.
The Stude manual lists both methods and the clearences for both.
Funny though.....how did Studebaker do it for it's "first" startup? And you can bet they didn't take the time to redo/check it!

Running....as Sonny said, I'm not getting into that one!

Roscomacaw
05-24-2005, 12:32 PM
Do them cold - add .002 to what the manual calls out as you adjust them and drive it. It's that simple.:D And by the way - a little valve noise in a Stude is a good thing.;) If you try for absolutely silent, you're flirting with trouble.

Miscreant at large.

cosmo
05-24-2005, 12:50 PM
iwas wondering if i could do a cold valve adjustment to my 63 lark. i never read anything about a cold adjustment just hot. so would that .002 simply be added to the .024 hot?

Roscomacaw
05-25-2005, 12:04 PM
It should work, just fine.:D

Miscreant at large.

casey
05-25-2005, 01:24 PM