PDA

View Full Version : Rear brakes lock up

dclewallen
05-08-2005, 06:41 PM
I've got a 53 Stude. Commander that has the Turner disc brake conversion. I've put an 8.8 Ford rearend in it with all new brake parts {shoes,hardware,wheel cylinders etc}. I have a dual master cylinder {new} with residual pressure valves front and rear. Its been working and stopping fine. The other day the rear brakes did not retract and really heated things up. No damage so far but what should I look at first to determine the cause? Help. I'm fixing to take the car to the paint shop and need to repair this first. Thanks, Dclewallen

Darryl C. Lewallen

Sonny
05-09-2005, 11:17 AM
quote:Originally posted by dclewallen

I've got a 53 Stude. Commander that has the Turner disc brake conversion. I've put an 8.8 Ford rearend in it with all new brake parts {shoes,hardware,wheel cylinders etc}. I have a dual master cylinder {new} with residual pressure valves front and rear. Its been working and stopping fine. The other day the rear brakes did not retract and really heated things up. No damage so far but what should I look at first to determine the cause? Help. I'm fixing to take the car to the paint shop and need to repair this first. Thanks, Dclewallen

Darryl C. Lewallen

First thing I'd do is give Jim Turner a call, but it sounds like you need an adjustable proportioning valve. Residual pressure valves work fine for drum brakes but not so for discs. Give Jim a call, I know he'll have the right answer for ya.

Sonny
http://RacingStudebakers.com

Mike Van Veghten
05-09-2005, 02:56 PM
Residual pressure valves don't work on disc conversions.........
Hmmmm, I must be doing something wrong!

My Lark with disc in the front, stock rear drums, with res. valves (2lb., 10lb.) frt. and rr, 10 years, and stops fine.

My Conestoga with discs at both ends with res. valves (2lb., 2lb.) for both ends, works great. Though it's only got about 150 miles on it so far, I see no reason to expect problems.