X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1964 Studebaker Wiring Harness

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the world of Studebakers and am interested in purchasing a 1964 Studebaker Lark locally. This Studebaker is equipped with a rebuilt ohv 170 c.i engine, with 1000 miles on the motor. The owner states that the car needs the wiring harness from the selinoid to the alternator replaced (melt down). How hard of a fix is this issue, and where would I be able to find such a part (and for what price). Also, are there any other known problems with this type of Studebaker that I should look for?

Best Regards,
    Tom (Glass_Packs)

Where were you in '62?

From the Studebaker International cataloque: Chassis front wiring harness (dashboard and forward) '64 Lark 6 cyl. NOS #1561446 $200.
    Hope this helps.
    Tim K.
    Tim K.
    \'64 R2 GT Hawk

Comment

It'll take you an afternoon or possibly a whole day if you're as anal as I am...[:I]

Lotsa Larks!
      Studeclunker
      A.K.A: out2lunch
      Home of the famous Mr. Ed!
      K.I.S.S. Keep It Simple Studebaker!
      Ron Smith
      Where the heck is Fawn Lodge, CA?

Comment

Tom,

It's pretty easy to fix. As GTim shows, new harnesses are readily available. But you might get lucky unless the harness is REALLY a fried mess[xx(]. I just had a situation where a wire to a generator got cooked and although the harness made me groan when I first looked at it, once unwrapped, it wasn't as bad as I'd assumed.
        Whichever way you go to fix it, be damned sure you know what caused it in the first place[:0] Wires, like fuses, don't just "go bad". There's always a REASON that caused them to fry - bad alternator, regulator, SOME kind of short that causes the wire to be forced into handling more current than it was designed to.