X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking at a 1962 Lark V8 to buy

Hello and Help,
    My wife and I just found a 62 lark sedan for sale locally. On craigslist in the bay area, Ca. Apparently it smokes white, too much to drive. I thought it might be a leaking transmission vac. diaphragm dumping trans. fluid into the intake. Is this the case with an automatic tranny? I have owned a 59 lark v8, a 62 six cyl. and a modified Wagonaire. It would be great to have another lark in the family, but I am concerned about cost and if I have misdiagnosed the problem. I have been an auto mechanic for about 25 years. I remember the ford borgwards having a vac. diaphragm that would leak and create the white smoke situation. It may also be due to a long time sitting. Tomorrow I will check it out, just wanted to get some stude feedback before I get my hopes up for having another lark to drive. Of Course, a 64 golden hawk GT would be lovely, but this is an available and attractive lark, and is here and now. Any advice out there?
    Thanks in advance,
    Fred Dodge, SDC member on and off for the past 25 years.

Cen 093, maybe it is tranny fluid, but my general rule is black smoke means oil, white smoke means coolant. I would suspect a cracked head or a cracked block, causing coolant to get into the combustion areas. I could be wrong, I hope I am wrong, but please be very careful before you spend any money on this one! Drain the oil, let the oil sit for a few minutes, and see if a water scum forms on the surface. If it does, you are looking at an engine rebuild within a few miles, maybe a hundred miles at the best. It may involve a replacement block. If the car is otherwise good, and you can get it for a good price, it may still be a good buy. These engines are easy to rebuild and replacement engines are not real hard to find, but factor that into the price in advance. Good luck!

Comment