PDA

View Full Version : newbie member and stude owner

zdmiller
03-30-2005, 11:28 PM
Howdy folks,

I'm a soldier recently returned from Iraq and decided to spend some of my hard earned dinero on a 63 Lark that my buddy began resto on. Its in great shape and runs o.k. I will be finishing the trim work and all the rest of the little things needed to get it running right. I have a question about the engine if ya'll could gimme a hand. How good was the original stock V8? Was it responsive or sluggish? Should I consider a swap to a modern powerplant, tranny and rear end? Any feedback is appreciated. Glad to be here.

55pres
03-31-2005, 01:20 AM
Glad you hear you served our county, and even more glad you made it back alive.
63 Lark is a great car, the Stude V8 is an awesome motor. A stock V8 depending on size could put out between 185HP and I think around 210HP. Studebaker had two sizes in 63, 259CI and 289CI and 304CI (very very rare R3 or R4) Keep the stock engine, there are MANY vendors that sell parts, you'll be very happy with it.

(2) 1955 Presidents

N8N
03-31-2005, 07:31 AM