PDA

View Full Version : 1941 Commander

curt
02-09-2005, 09:55 PM
I am new to this page so bare with me. What are the avaliable 1939-1942 Studbaker vehicles, What price range from part-cars to the best ? Are thes reliable road vehicles yet?:)

Peter in London
02-10-2005, 06:01 AM
As the first person to reply, let me say welcome! I'm pretty new here too and can not usually make any useful contribution, so I post little, but it seems to be an extremely friendly and helpful group.

In January Turning Wheels (the invaluable SDC journal) there is a superb looking '39 Commander convertible for $29,000 - but in the south of France. Another (Coupe Express) being restored and "will complete for $70,000". That seems to me to be way above the usual prices for cars advertised in TW. A '40 Champion sedan for $5,500. '40 President Business coupe - $40,000. '41 Commander Skyway - $15,000. In Feb. TW there is in addition a '40 President Business Coupe for $32,000.

TW lists many cars for sale every month and they vary enormously in condition and price. Well worth keeping an eye on. I got my Speedster that way 9 years ago in the days when I got TW two months late by sea mail. The vendors were surprised to get a call from London in mid winter when they had given up trying to sell the car - and when I at last plucked up the courage to take the plunge. I would never have done it had I realise just how far short of a realistic estimate my courage was to prove to be! But well worth it in the end. (My father had a new '55 Champion on which I later took my driving test in snow in Oxford aged 17.)

Good luck! Peter.

Sam Roberts
02-10-2005, 08:27 AM
I can provide fill in on some of the cars you refer to Peter. The '41 Commander Skyway is owned by a fellow in the Indy Chapter of SDC, and is a very nice car I assure you!