This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new to the board, with a question...

hey guys, im new to the board, and im used to dealing with imports (as im 21) but ive decided to take on the task on restoring and street-rodding a 38 Studebaker 4 door. ive been "told" that the floors on these were origionally partially wood. i dont know if thats the truth though as the vehicle we are looking at has basically no floor. the frame however is in good shape, as is the body on the vehicle. any help would be appreciated as this is my first attempt on restoring a car.

Hi Skittles,

Welcome!
    Your '38 should have no wood in the floor.
    Is it a Dictator, or a President?
    Are you a member of the Studebaker Drivers Club?
    Are you a member of the Antique Studebaker Club?
    Both are great resources for parts, and technical information.
    To join, go to:

and

Before you start, here's a friendly tip...
    Don't ever use the word 'restoring' and 'street-rodding' in the same sentence. That's like playing with gasoline and matches. A restoration is bringing a vehicle back to 'as built' condition.
    That being said, I'd like to offer a couple of suggestions...

First: Join the SDC a/o the ASC.
    You will gain a lot of knowledge about a great American company and learn a lot about the car you have.

Second: Check your budget of time and money. Too many good intentioned projects get stalled from a lack of planning, ability, and just plain old lack of money or time. Do you have five years of time to do it all yourself on weekends? Do you have $25K to toss at the project? That number is not out of line if you have to pay to have the work done somewhere else.