PDA

View Full Version : 4speed conversion



michael welch
02-18-2007, 04:34 PM
looking for information on converting my 53 coupe with 259 3speed over drive from a 58 stud to four speed. any information and advice will be appreciated. thanks michael welch

JDP
02-18-2007, 04:50 PM
Engine is a bolt in, but you'll have drive shaft issues. The later Hawk one piece shaft will hit the tunnel on occasion. You'll need some unique to 4 speed clutch linkage too.

64 Commander 2 dr.
64 Daytona HT
63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk (Black) #2
63 Avanti R1
63 Daytona convert
63 Lark 2 door
63 Lark 2 door #2
62 Daytona HT/ 4 speed
62 Lark 2 door
62 GT Hawk 4 speed
60 Lark HT
60 Hawk
59 3E truck
52 Starliner
51 Commander

Dick Steinkamp
02-18-2007, 05:33 PM
quote:Originally posted by JDP
The later Hawk one piece shaft will hit the tunnel on occasion.


I don't know if this helps any since I have a Chevy V8 in my '54, but I'm running a T10 WITH the stock 2 piece drive shaft. I had to shorten the front shaft a tad. The 4 speed yoke fit the existing yoke on the front shaft. No interference probs.



http://thenobot.org/images/s2d/s2d_01.jpg

1956 Hawk
02-20-2007, 05:30 PM
I don't know if a 53 is much different, but I put a 61 T-10 in my 56 Hawk. Assuming you have a Studebaker bellhousing and T-10 transmission there are a few other things you will have to do. You have to get a 4 speed transmission mount from one of the vendors. I had to put a 1/4" steel spacer between the mount and the crossmember to get everything to line up. The clutch linkage will work if you make a bracket to mount the end of the clutch shaft to the transmission. I used the old 3 speed bracket and bolted it to a flat plate that I cut to fit on the side of the transmission. I will get some pictures later if you would like me to. If you can get the drive shaft from a 4 speed hawk it should be a bolt in. The crossmember that the two piece shaft attaches to will have to be removed. On mine I had to widen the tunnel and raise the car in the rear to get the driveshaft to clear. I think thats about it. I would recommend using a Hurst shifter instead of the factory linkage.
David