PDA

View Full Version : brake lines and switch



studelover
02-11-2007, 07:30 PM
I am tying to figure if this configuration is for a dual master cly or just something someone made up, take a look at this pic and please tell me what this is?http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v145/mr1940/IMG_0018.jpg this is found on my drivers side inner fender well

Studebakers forever!

Roscomacaw
02-11-2007, 08:56 PM
Someone eliminated the power brake booster. Those two short flexible lines would connect to the booster but someone just tied them together with a brass T-fitting and screwed the brake lite switch into it.[B)]

Miscreant adrift in
the BerStuda Triangle
http://images.andale.com/f2/115/106/906179/2006/12/7/truckonhill3.jpg

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
1960 Larkvertible V8
1958 Provincial wagon
1953 Commander coupe

N8N
02-11-2007, 09:26 PM
yeah, what Mr. Biggs said.

that said, do you have Saginaw power steering? would you mind snapping a few more pics of that setup? specifically how the hoses are routed?

thanks,

nate

--
55 Commander Starlight
http://home.comcast.net/~njnagel

studelover
02-12-2007, 12:40 AM
OK, I see that this poor car has been though it.Would this car function without the booster? What kind of booster would I need to replace it and what additional parts would I need to make this thing complete and work as it did in the beginning.

Studebakers forever!

JDP
02-12-2007, 12:57 AM
You need this booster and mount. Looks like you may have the mount.




http://stude.com/hydrovac.jpg

studelover
02-12-2007, 09:24 AM
WOW I wonder why they left that out. Where can I get one? are they expensive? Will the little rubber lines attach to the pump directly? I need that pump.[8D]

Studebakers forever!

JDP
02-12-2007, 09:57 AM
It's not a pump, it's a booster, but yes your lines will attach. I get $200 to rebuild one, but you'll need to find a core. ($50-$100)

64 Commander 2 dr.
64 Daytona HT
63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk (Black) #2
63 Avanti R1
63 Daytona convert
63 Lark 2 door
63 Lark 2 door #2
62 Daytona HT/ 4 speed
62 Lark 2 door
62 GT Hawk 4 speed
60 Lark HT
60 Hawk
59 3E truck
52 Starliner
51 Commander

Dick Steinkamp
02-12-2007, 10:42 AM
quote:Originally posted by JDP

You need this booster and mount. Looks like you may have the mount.



The mount shown is actually just the fenderwell mount for the two lines. The booster mount is heavier gauge metal and bigger.

You'll also need the vacuum line to the manifold and the little one way valve between that line and the hydravac.

The booster on the two disc brake cars I've owned did not have the second bleeder in front of the little air filter. Were there two types of hydravacs?




http://thenobot.org/images/s2d/s2d_01.jpg

studelover
02-13-2007, 06:47 PM
here are some pic's of the power steering hoses, I can't get close right now however maybe later I could get you a better shot.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v145/mr1940/IMG_0026-1.jpg

Studebakers forever!

N8N
02-13-2007, 06:51 PM
oops... never mind, you have the later type box, thanks for trying tho

nate

--
55 Commander Starlight
http://home.comcast.net/~njnagel

GTtim
02-13-2007, 09:26 PM
Yes. The kind for disc brakes doesn't have the second bleeder. I think there are other minor internal differences. They seem to work interchangeably but I suspect the disc brake model has a little more capacity (cylinder travel?).





Were there two types of hydravacs?




http://thenobot.org/images/s2d/s2d_01.jpg

[/quote]

Tim K.
'64 R2 GT Hawk

64V-K7
02-14-2007, 06:29 AM
Don't know about the extra bleeder, as my car is supposed to have an NOS unit and it's in pristine condition. It has two bleeders.

I believe the Hydrovac for disk brake cars had more pressure. There was supposedly a service kit installed by dealers, for complaints regarding poor brake performance, with disk brakes. The standard Hydro gives around 700psi, the 'kitted' unit was around 900.

StudeRich
02-14-2007, 05:58 PM
Studelover; Please keep in mind, if you do not replace the Hydravac, you will have the short brake pedal shaft for power brakes instead of the long one that you need. If you notice your pedal should be low to the floor if it still has the "Power Brakes" pedal shaft. Also those booster flex hoses are way past due for replacement, please do yourself a favor and order new ones from a Studebaker Parts Vendor at: http://www.studebakervendors.com
Rich.

StudeRich
Studebakers Northwest
Ferndale, WA

studelover
02-14-2007, 11:44 PM
thanks your correct about the pedal, I want to put the system back to the correct application. I will be at the keystone swap meet and I will be looking for a booster and a good steering wheel.[8D]

Studebakers forever!

JDP
02-15-2007, 12:29 AM
I've had a bunch of Studebaker Hydrovacs rebuilt, never saw one with a single bleeder.

64 Commander 2 dr.
64 Daytona HT
63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk (Black) #2
63 Avanti R1
63 Daytona convert
63 Lark 2 door
63 Lark 2 door #2
62 Daytona HT/ 4 speed
62 Lark 2 door
62 GT Hawk 4 speed
60 Lark HT
60 Hawk
59 3E truck
52 Starliner
51 Commander

Dick Steinkamp
02-15-2007, 12:44 AM
quote:Originally posted by JDP

I've had a bunch of Studebaker Hydrovacs rebuilt, never saw one with a single bleeder.


Here's the one out of my current '63 disc brake GT. My '63 R1 disc brake GT had an identical 1 bleeder unit also.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/154/390868934_1b61954ab0.jpg

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/188/390868935_03cf87338e.jpg

http://thenobot.org/images/s2d/s2d_01.jpg

JDP
02-15-2007, 01:21 AM
Something is very wrong, I'll need to check my books again, but that booster does not match any I've seen if the is not a second bleeder on that longer tube..

64 Commander 2 dr.
64 Daytona HT
63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk (Black) #2
63 Avanti R1
63 Daytona convert
63 Lark 2 door
63 Lark 2 door #2
62 Daytona HT/ 4 speed
62 Lark 2 door
62 GT Hawk 4 speed
60 Lark HT
60 Hawk
59 3E truck
52 Starliner
51 Commander