1950 Transmission Tool

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1950 Transmission Tool

I'm not a Studebaker owner, but am a member/owner of another orphan group - Nash. I know how important it is to locate or help others find parts, etc. This morning while doing my usual "check Craiglist" routine (Tampa Bay area of Florida) I ran across an ad for a transmission tool for 1950 Commanders and Land Cruisers with auto transmission. The web link to this ad is:

and a phone number is given (727-234-5961). I hope that this can help someone.

Regards,
    Bob Young

This has got to interest somebody.

Doug
    Venice, Florida
    1950 Champion
    9G F1

Comment

THIS IS SO COOL! I think this is the tool that 'dials in' the bell housing! If so, then it just might work with any Studee V8!

'Course, I'm no expert... so take my humble opinion for what it's worth. Still, it looks like the tools they use in the pictures displayed within the Shop manuals.

Oh...[8)] Never mind.[:I][)] This seems to be for servicing the internals.[8)]

Home of the famous Mr. Ed!
      K.I.S.S. Keep It Simple Studebaker!
      Ron Smith
      Where the heck is Lewiston, CA?
      Ron Smith
      Where the heck is Fawn Lodge, CA?

Comment

THIS IS SO COOL!
        The very large round bit looks like the Converter Aligning tool mentioned in both the '56 car S.M. (pg. 101) and the '59-'64 car S.M. Some of the other bits look like the 'Air Nozzle' and 'Pressure Gauge' mentioned on the same page in the '56 manual. I wonder if they'll work only with the early models (50 to possibly 55) or with the later models as well?

Ron Smith
        Where the heck is Fawn Lodge, CA?

Comment

The large round devise with the smaller protrusion in the center is the Converter centering tool, used to center the converter within the converter housing AFTER the housing is dialed in to the crankshaft centerline.