NEW HERE* studebaker get it back running

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NEW HERE* studebaker get it back running

hi, im new here and would just like to introduce myself and my situation.
    my names dean, and im 17 years old, im by no means an expert at restoring cars like mny of you might be. But my uncle is giving me his 1957 studebaker. However it has nt ran for six years, and he says that there have not been feeze plugs on since then, and none of he fluids were drained ether.

Now for my question, what do i need to do just to gt it running again just so i can get the car to my house(about 1-2 miles away).

thanks for your help it is greatly appreciated

Hi Dean - welcome to the Forum and the world of Studebakers. I and many others could go through a long list of things you need to do, but the summary at this link captures most stuff:

Getting it running and ensuring the brakes are sound are the mandatory items before it can be moved. Might be best to get it towed/trailered to your place for a good going over before attempting to drive it - unless it's currently in a good spot to be worked on.

<h5>Mark
    '57 Transtar Deluxe
    Vancouver Island Chapter
    http://visdc.shawwebspace.ca/ </h5>

Mark Hayden
    '66 Commander

Comment

thanks mark, maybe i will get it towed

Comment

If there really are no freeze plugs in the block then that would be a priority because even if you get it started you won't be able to keep coolant in it and in a couple of miles of driving combined with the inevitable idling in the driveway after the initial startup you could do some serious damage from overheating.

Does your uncle have triple AAA? If the car is currently registered to him they will tow it under his policy. If not the towing expense for a couple of miles to your house would be money well spent considering what could happen on the way that will cost much more than a tow.