Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• chevy 350 Valve Calibration admission and escape

Hello Everybody,

As most of you know that my 57 President have a chevy 350 in it.

I finally took it for a ride around the block after a tune-up and the car is still back firing and even through the carburetor. My father thinks is that the the valves are too tight. Any of you smart guys out there can help me with the actual calibration specification, my father told me there are leafs and they have a number depending what the engine valves take, am thinking he is referring to the gap same thing you do to spark plugs. what they need to be set to? I Google it and everybody talks how to adjust them and don't see what my father is referring to. Please correct me if i dont make sense as im learning more everyday about cars,im a computer technician lol...

we replace:
    Spark Plugs
    Spark Plug Wire
    Distributor Cap
    Distributor Rotor
    Change Oil
    Change Oil Filter
    Flush Radiator and put new fluids in there.
    1957 Studebaker President Sedan 57H-W6 2606

If your Chevy is a stock 350 with hydraulic lifters the adjustment is done with the engine warm and running. Back each rocker nut out until it begins to tap. Slowly tighten the nut until the noise goes away. Then slowly tighten one more full turn by turning the nut 1/4 turn at a time. The engine will stumble a little on each turn just wait until it smooths out before you turn the next 1/4 turn.

It's messy but you can buy rocker clips to control the oil flow.

ErnieR

R2 R5388 @ Macungie 2006________________ 1988 "Beater" Avanti

Comment

If they're solid lifters, you set them with a feeler gauge. Most likely you have hydraulic lifters.

For hydraulics, here's how I do it:

1. With the engine off, find the pushrods that are all the way down (shortest).

2. Snug the nut down until it has no play, but no tension