57 Commander Brakes Please HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 57 Commander Brakes Please HELP!

Hi. I am new to Studebakers and was driving my Commander when I realized the brakes were awful. I chcked to see where I would add some more brake fluid and see where the leak was, but I couldn't find it anywhere. My qestion is, does my car have hydraulic brakes, and if so, where would I find the place to put my brake fluid?

Thanks for any help!

You probably should get the shop manual for the car. They are reasonable and available from most Studebaker parts vendors in hard copy or CD.

Your master cylinder is under the floor on the driver's side. It is accessible to fill by removing the plug in the floor over it. You may have to pull up the carpet or mat on the driver's side to see the plug.

Generally, just adding fluid is not going to make "awful" brakes better. The brakes are relatively simple and it is inexpensive and a good idea to go through them entirely...shoes, wheel and master cylinders, flex lines, and drums (if needed), if you don't know the history of when this was last done.

It's inconvenient if the car doesn't go....it's deadly if it doesn't stop.

Dick Steinkamp
    Bellingham, WA

Dick Steinkamp
    Bellingham, WA

Comment

Welcome to the forum, Cissell. You'll find many here ready and willing to help you keep your stude on the road and operating efficiently.

Comment

As a Mom we have a rule if it doesn't Stop that is doesn't GO. Keeps us alive and everybody else too.

Mabel 1949 Champion
        Hawk 1957 Silverhawk
        Gus 1958 Transtar
        The Prez 1955 President State
        Blu 1957 Golden Hawk
        Daisy 1954 Regal Commander Starlight Coupe
        Fresno,Ca
        Mabel 1949 Champion
        Hawk 1957 Silverhawk
        Gus 1958 Transtar
        The Prez 1955 President State
        Blu 1957 Golden Hawk
        Daisy 1954 Regal Commander Starlight Coupe
        Fresno,Ca

Comment