PDA

View Full Version : 63GT New motor mounts-GROUNDS ?



starlightchamp
01-31-2007, 06:33 PM
Replaced the four engine mounts-the old ones were putty and had let the
motor slide forward over an inch. I need advice on grounding the motor,
now that it is nicely insulated on new rubber, to the chassis. I'm thinking the easiest
thing would be to run a grounding strap from the tranny mountbolt to some place
nearby on the chassis. Also, probably a good idea to run one to the firewall
and pick up the dash side with a lug and wire to provide a good ground for the fiberglas
dash instruments. Any suggestions?

1950 Champion Starlight
1963 Hawk GT
Santa Barbara
CA
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/125/368321841_7d3a05da00_t.jpg
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/185/367175252_40e3cec1d9_t.jpg

JDP
01-31-2007, 07:00 PM
The strap mounts on the passenger side mount bracket bolt, the other end is held by a self tapping bolt into a hole in the frame.

(see strap in engine picture)


http://stude.com/geng3.jpg

64 Commander 2 dr.
64 Daytona HT
63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk (Black) #2
63 Avanti R1
63 Daytona convert
63 Lark 2 door
63 Lark 2 door #2
62 Daytona HT/ 4 speed
62 Lark 2 door
62 GT Hawk 4 speed
60 Lark HT
60 Hawk
59 3E truck
52 Starliner
51 Commander

Dick Steinkamp
01-31-2007, 07:03 PM
Here's how my '63 is grounded. This is the right front motor mount...

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/123/376004863_3f4e0fca0c.jpg



http://thenobot.org/images/s2d/s2d_01.jpg

jjones
01-31-2007, 07:08 PM
I used a small grounding strap from the engine side of the motor mount to the chassis side, running it along the inside (engine side) of the mount. It is nearly invisible and works great. For the chassis to body ground, I used a strap between the two, mounted with self-tapping metal screws. Also works well. As for the instruments, most electric instruments are "grounded" to their sending units, and work in some magical way that us non-electrical engineer types don't really understand but do appreciate. Dash lights, etc., do need grounding.

jj

N8N
01-31-2007, 08:42 PM
Dick's pic, AFAIK, shows the exact method used by the factory.

nate

--
55 Commander Starlight
http://home.comcast.net/~njnagel

starlightchamp
02-02-2007, 02:30 PM
Thanks all!! Dick's photo was especially helpful because when I looked to install
a ground cable as shown in the picture--there was already an original one there.
Old eyes I guess cause I never noticed it before. The new mounts were installed from
below using a lift .

1950 Champion Starlight
1963 Hawk GT
Santa Barbara
CA
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/125/368321841_7d3a05da00_t.jpg
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/185/367175252_40e3cec1d9_t.jpg