Color on 63 Avanti R2 alternator

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Color on 63 Avanti R2 alternator

Just had my alternator rebuilt, I had the center section painted a dull red just like it was when I pulled it off. I have been told that this was incorrect, it should be a dull silver. Does anyone know for sure what this little section in the middle should be painted. I am not a stickler for detail, but since it is off the car and nice and clean, I figured, why not make it correct.

TX John in VA

1963 Avanti R2
    John
    1963 Avanti R2
    Marshall, VA

I bought some NOS alternators and the center is a copper type color.Can ask my neighbor to try and post a picture since im not that technical yet if you like.Ed

Comment

Well, I looked at the list:
      This website is for sale! sterkel.org is your first and best source for all of the information you’re looking for. From general topics to more of what you would expect to find here, sterkel.org has it all. We hope you find what you are searching for!

and I didn't see that part listed. So when you find out what it is the list can be expanded to 44 paintable items on an Avanti.

Thomas

Comment

I've not taken apart any prestolite alternators, but that "copper" or dull red color is most likely dipped insulation material. Having taken apart a '65 ford and some 80s ford alternators, I think they are constucted similarily.