NOOB

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NOOB

Hi, i'm a newbie here, although i am not new to old cars or studebakers for that matter. bought a 61 lark cruiser regal this summer and have been on the car almost nonstop since. drove this thing all over this summer. my other old car projects have been put aside. i bought the car to try and get it into the hunnert car pile up, a famous pre '65 rod & custom car show in our area. (Chicago) these guys reject a lot of cars (billet parts - bling wheels - trailer queens, etc. will get you booted at the gate.) all cars must be modified. no stock resto's. they had over 1200 cars inside the gate. when i pulled up, the tech guy said " at least tell me this thing's got a studebaker motor in it" i said yeah, it's a 289. he just smiled and said " i got one in my model A " and waived me in. my wife looked at me as if she was both stunned and relieved. (the 48 chev coupe in front of me had just been rejected for modern dragstar wheels) you couldn't slap the smile off me for the rest of the day. thanks to Ed George, Eddie George, and Mason Maynard for tech. advice and encouragement.
    Butch Summers
    61 lark cruiser
    64 daytona 2dr hardtop

Welcome to the Forum, and to SDC Butch! Glad to have another rare '61 Lark Cruiser member here, I can think of about 4 driving examples here already, 5 if you add mine which has never been shown here!

I have always loved the look of a stretched '59-'60 Lark rear roof-line and rear glass that only '61 Cruisers have. The rear glass is a special one-off piece that resembles a '59-'60 but is not because of it's height, it comes all the way down to the deck unlike the '59-'60. []

Mine is a 289 Automatic, White with the beautiful metallic Med. Blue pleated Vinyl reclining split bench seats, I love it! []

You will get all the help here, that you need, good luck with your "Special" Lark! [^]