Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Part of my studeducation: Paint Jobs

I have a couple questions that I request your input on:

1) In general, for a 62-63 Lark, what do paint jobs run (ball park) for sedans with minimal suface rust (solid metal, just a few stone chips) - and and good chrome? I mean, am old enough to remember Earl Schieb, but I know that paint jobs aren't any car, any color, just $99 anymore! -and -

2) How do they match the colors so they mimic factory original?

Again, I'm new to all this, so I am eager to learn.

Stu K

"If not now, when?"

I don't know much but I was quoted $6000 3 years ago for repainting a '64 Daytona hardtop that looked to be very solid. This was a quote from my neighbors body shop.

Brent's rootbeer racer.
    MN iron ore...it does your body good.
    sigpic
    In the middle of MinneSTUDEa.

Comment

Hey Stu , dont take this in the wrong way, I work in the collision repair busines and it reminds of when people would call you up and ask over the phone what a repair would cost. No it wont be cheap. Theres so much involved in a price: metal work, previous paint work, removing of bright work, paint stripping, single stage or dual stage paint are just some examples. Then do you have your friend of a friend do it in his single car garage or the rod restoration shop two cities over? Take the car to a couple of respectible business and get some quotes and when you do decide on who does the work get a stone cold price and what work will be performed. GOOD LUCK

TOM
      sigpic

Comment

They can match the factory colors...most shops...at least good shops, have paint manufacturer books going back many decades for paint colors with modern formulas to match them. Many shops can also computer match the color if a color code can't be found.

Also...expect hidden problems to show up once trim, old paint, etc., has been removed that was invisible prior to the estimate being given.