PDA

View Full Version : speedo repair



KGlowacky
10-12-2009, 06:13 PM
Well I just finished taking my speedo out of my 56 wagon and oiling it and greesing the cable. I was driving last week and the thing start making noises I would never think was possible without serious damage occurring. Well I got it apart and found no damage. Will let you know if all it was was lack of oil and greese. Can't take it out for a test drive as it has been raining for 4 days. And in Texas when I say raining I mean pouring. But we need and like the rain down here. Also while out I hooked it up to my cordless drill. Any idea the top speed of my drill??

dean pearson
10-12-2009, 06:23 PM
48.
Dean.

Mark57
10-13-2009, 01:30 AM
I had a 90 MPH Truck speedo hooked to an electric drill and I could bury the needle well over the 90 mph mark, so I'm guessing that you could get close to 120 mph out of it. ;)

<h5>Mark
'57 Transtar Deluxe
Vancouver Island Chapter
http://visdc.shawwebspace.ca/ </h5>

http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x153/MarkH57/IMG_0443a.jpg

KGlowacky
10-13-2009, 09:17 AM
Well I must confess me drill is a wimp. I could only get it to 34 mph. But now after these comments I will check my drill. It must be dialed back at the button or the battery was low or well I just got a bad drill. Darn Craftsman!!!

Jeff_H
10-13-2009, 10:50 AM
Don't know about the '56 with the drum speedo, but at least a '53 speedo the odometer is geared so that it takes 1000 turns of the speedo cable to turn over 1 mile. I know this because I sat down and COUNTED it [xx(] once.... A little math on that fact will reveal that at 60mph, that means the speedo cable is turning at 1000rpm:

1000turns/mile x 60 mile/hr x 1hr/60min = 1000turns/min = 1000 rpm

Jeff in ND
http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t5/ee-engineer/devilstowerthumbnail.jpg
'53 Champion Hardtop

KGlowacky
10-13-2009, 11:31 AM
Jeff H I take my hat off to you. I learn something everyday. I guess if I use your factors as fact my 34 mph means my drill was turning at 340 rpm's. Not Much. Dang Craftsman. LOL

Jeff_H
10-13-2009, 12:18 PM
Actually:

60mph/1000rpm = 34mph/X rpm so 34x1000/60= 567 rpm so your drill's not as sluggish as you thought [:p]



Jeff in ND
http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t5/ee-engineer/devilstowerthumbnail.jpg
'53 Champion Hardtop

KGlowacky
10-17-2009, 08:18 PM
Just an update. Took the wagon out for a test drive tonight. The speedo was quite as a mouse. BUT I did something wrong, my dash lights are not working. BUT not a problem I know how to take the gauges out since I have done it many times. LOL LOL LOL part of owning and enjoying an old car. LOVE IT!!

DEEPNHOCK
10-17-2009, 08:52 PM
Question...
What kind of grease did you use on the speedo cable?
Jeff[8D]

N8N
10-17-2009, 08:58 PM
my good drill only turns 850 RPMs. Don't need RPMs when you got TORQUE.

hey, I've heard that somewhere before...

nate

--
55 Commander Starlight
http://members.cox.net/njnagel

KGlowacky
10-17-2009, 11:11 PM
On the cable I just sprayed white lithiam(sp) grease on it.

58 packard
10-20-2009, 11:33 AM
i repair speedo for a truck co for 27 yers at 30 mpr it turn 1000 rpm at 60 it will turn 2000 rpm it check the same on my 51 stud 58 packard if yuo paint the hand it not read weight i had to add more weight to the top of the hand to make it read ok