New Stude

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Stude

Hello, My name is David, and I am new to the Studebaker scene, but not new to the classic car scene. I picked up a 1937 Studebaker Dictator, with the original flathead 6 (218.6?). The car is a bit rough around the edges, and the engine was sitting in the dirt about 20 feet from the car where I found it, but its not unrestorable. What I want to do is rip out that old flatty, and go with a more unique engine choice like a 350 chevy (kidding, don't send me hate mail). I want to really go all out on the original flathead, performance cam, head, stainless exhaust, 3 one barrels, the whole 9 yards. My question for all you Studebaker guys and gals, is where can I find speed parts for a 37 Studebaker flathead? Does anyone know of any good flathead 6 performance books, or rebuilding books? This car will be my daily driver once its finished, so I want a peppy, yet reliable drivetrain. Studebaker claimed that these flathead 6's could turn 5000rpm for days on end, which impresses the heck out of me, so it sounds like a nice motor. Any help you guys can give would be appreciated. Once I figure out how to post pics, I will include some of my Dictator in this thread, just give me a few minutes...

Ok this is where it sat when I got it

Comment

This is the motor

Comment

This is my paintbrush "photoshopped" motivation...

Basically original except sitting a little lower, with a chop top and fender skirts (and the hot rodded flathead under the hood.)

Comment

Hi Dave, you may have to update to a 1939 or newer Stude 6 in order to find performance parts. Here is a link to a site dedicated to the 1939 & newer Stude 6 engines: http://www.cathcartsstudebaker.com/
          Good luck!

Brent's rootbeer racer.
          MN iron ore...it does your body good.
          sigpic
          In the middle of MinneSTUDEa.

Comment