Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Truck part number, please

Need the part numbers for the cast two-piece hood insert (S-T-U-D-E
    B-A-K-E-R) used on '57 (and up) Transtar trucks (and others, I know, I'm not an expert and don't have a parts book.) Came in Chrome or Painted, right?

Thanks.

KURTRUK
    (read it backwards)

Nothing is politically right which is morally wrong. -A. Lincoln
    KURTRUK
    (read it backwards)

Painted
    1654120X93 "stude"
    1654121X93 "baker"

Chrome
    1654120W "stude"
    1654121W "baker"

Jeff DeWitt

Jeff DeWitt
    http://carolinastudes.net

Comment

Thank you, thank you, Jeff.

KURTRUK
      (read it backwards)

KURTRUK
      (read it backwards)

Comment

FYI - The painted hood insert was a different color depending on the year and options on the truck. Of course, after '59, all of them were originally paited white.

<h5>Mark
        '57 Transtar Deluxe
        Vancouver Island Chapter
        http://visdc.shawwebspace.ca/ </h5>

Mark Hayden
        '66 Commander

Comment

You're welcome Kurt.

Mark, my 57-61 parts book just gives those two numbers, it doesn't say anything about color. Was the color something applied later like other body parts?

Jeff DeWitt

Jeff DeWitt
          http://carolinastudes.net

Comment

With Stude parts, the "W" suffix indicates chrome plated. If it was "P", that indicates primered. "V" indicates gold-tinted. An "X" followed by a digit or two, indicates a certain finished color. And there's even parts carrying a combination of two of these, such as WP, if applicable. There ARE many instances where plated or tinted parts don't have a suffix number as you'd assume they should, but hey - that's Studebaker for ya.[B)]