PDA

View Full Version : backup lights



63larkcustom
12-25-2006, 09:37 PM
What is needed to install backup lights. The car was not originally equipped with them.. Oh yes.. its a 63 Lark.

Bob Sporner
Palm Springs, California

Roscomacaw
12-25-2006, 10:22 PM
Maybe just some wiring and the sockets themselves. I assume your car has the lenses and the bodies the lenses mount to, no? Since this is an automatic-tranny car, the BU lite switch is already installed. It's integral with the neutral safety start switch that's on the column, just below the lower edge of the instrument panel. Some (maybe all) of the necessary wiring may already exist in the harness. If that's the case, you'd need a power wire from someplace and an inline fuse. Then either find BU lite bodies with the sockets installed (getting tough to find) or modify ones like you've got to accept sockets for the bulbs.[^]

Miscreant adrift in
the BerStuda Triangle
http://images.andale.com/f2/115/106/906179/2006/12/7/truckonhill3.jpg

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
1960 Larkvertible V8
1958 Provincial wagon
1953 Commander coupe

ROADRACELARK
12-26-2006, 09:28 AM
Bob,
Mr Biggs is right. The wiring is already there. Look in the trunk where the tail lamp assembly connects to the harness on each side and you'll find the pigtail recepticle for the single wire of the backup lamp assembly to plug into. Locate a pair of backup lamp assemblies, drill and mount, just plug in. As Mr. Biggs says, the rest of the wiring and switch is there and I think the circuit nay already be conected to a power source. Hope this helps:)

Dan Miller
Atlanta, GA

[img=left]http://static.flickr.com/57/228744729_7aff5f0118_m.jpg[/img=left]
Road Racers turn left AND right.