PDA

View Full Version : '55 President Torque converter housing



RHO
12-21-2006, 10:35 AM
About to install the Borg Warner tranny to the engine; from looking at the service manual, it appears I am missing three metallic screens that attach to the housing (two for air inlet on each side and one for air outlet). Neither this transmission nor a spare have these screens.
1. Are these screens available or should I just make some?
2. Cannot determine how the air outlet screen attaches.
Thanks.

'55 Commander
'55 President

JDP
12-21-2006, 10:59 AM
They are just diamond steel mesh, not sure about a outlet screen. Since it's a side exit, I can't imagine crap getting in it, but you could rig a screen I guess.

http://stude.com/sig.jpg
JDP
Arnold Md.
Studebaker On The Net
http://stude.com
My Ebay Items
http://www.stude.com/EBAY/

64 GT hawk
64 Commander 2 dr.
63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk (Black) #2
63 Avanti R1
63 Daytona convert
63 Lark 2 door
63 Lark 2 door #2
62 Lark 2 door
60 Hawk
59 3E truck
52 Starliner
51 Commander

55studeman
12-21-2006, 01:31 PM
Off the top of my head, I thought they stopped using the screens by 55'. It was my understanding that the screens got blocked and weren't cleaned frequently enough and so they caused more porblems (overheating) then they solved, hence they were discontinued. Is it the 55' shop manual that you're looking at? Even if it is, they copied many pics from year to year, that entire Automatic tranny section in the shop manual is essentially identical from 51 to 55. Check the chassis parts manual and look for the screen, it would be more reliable for parts accuarcy than the shop manual, believe it or not.

Regardless, I've rebuilt two 55' DG250's and both DID NOT have the screens, similar to what you found on yours. IIRC, if you look at older shop manuals (DG150) you'll find a pic that shows the screens on the side intakes being held on by two small screws on the long side, one per side -the screw holes were drilled and tapped at the factory. Oh, and no screen on the outlet, that doesn't make sense to block outflow.

E. West
"The Speedster Kid"
Sunny Northern California
Where the roads don't freeze over and the heat doesn't kill you.
And an open road is yours to have -only during non-commute rush hours 9am-4pm and 7pm to 7am (Ha, ha, ha)

RHO
12-21-2006, 05:28 PM
OK, that must be the answer as both these transmissions are off '55s, one a sedan and one a wagon and no signs of screen on either. I'll just rig up something for the inlets since the screw holes are there and forget the outlet. Just got the transmission onto the engine today. Hopefully the whole assembly of engine and tranny will be inserted into the car before the year is over, making it right at two years since the car was acquired. Thanks for the help.

'55 Commander
'55 President

Studebayker
12-21-2006, 09:26 PM
My '55 Prez has an expanded metal screen on the intake, but nothing
on the outlet. I cleaned the grease off of it last week. A DG250M
trans.



James K. Clark
Rutledge Tn.
'55 Prez 2dr. Hdtp.
Don't take yourself too seriously!

James K. Clark