PDA

View Full Version : 63 Torque Converter Cost???



sals54
03-12-2009, 06:48 PM
Anyone have a torque converter for a 63 Automatic? Are they the same for 59 thru 64? I'm on the West Coast... Sacramento. How much should I expect to spend? Thanks

sals54
http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/mm197/sals54/NewSignature.jpg

StudeRich
03-12-2009, 07:11 PM
On the V-8's the 259, 289 and Avanti/Jet Thrust all have their own stall speed, but many 259/289 ones have been crossed over the years and it does not seem to matter much, or enough to notice.

I took one out of a 259 '62 Lark and installed it in a 259 '64 Daytona and noted that it's Mfg. code was "FT" on the front face, so I am guessing that is the 259 unit.

The last one I had rebuilt at RPM Torque Converter in Phoenix, AZ was a long time ago, and not over $200.00 but that means little today.

I cannot find them in Yahoo Yellow Pages or Google, so who knows if they are still around, it WAS the largest in the area for all the So. Cal Tranny shops to use.

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa221/studerich/My64Daytona.jpg
StudeRich at Studebakers Northwest -Ferndale,WA

Anne F. Goodman
03-12-2009, 07:37 PM
6 or V8?

Mabel 1949 Champion
1957 Silverhawk
1955 Champion 4Dr.Regal
Gus 1958 Transtar
1955 President State
1957 Golden Hawk
Fresno,Ca
http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o269/nw3anne/Mabel.jpg?t=1165475035http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o269/nw3anne/xmasannecopy.jpghttp://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o269/nw3anne/GusMater.jpghttp://s122.photobucket.com/albums/o269/nw3anne/th_DSCN17232008-01-01.jpg

sals54
03-12-2009, 08:02 PM
Thanks Anne. Its a 259 Auto. I am thinking of using the torque converter out of JT automatic. Will that work? The trans the Torque converter came out of is a column shift auto and appears to be the same as the one coming out of the Lark. I do need to replace the converter for the JT trans, tho. The ring gear on the Lark converter is flat.

sals54
http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/mm197/sals54/NewSignature.jpg

ST2DE5
03-12-2009, 08:12 PM
Has anyone ever taking a torque converter to a transmission shop and checked if one from another car would work. $200 for a torque converter sounds like robbery to me.

http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd185/51stude/004_4-1.jpg
7G-Q1 49 2R12 10G-F5 56B-D4 56B-F2
Middle Tennessee 37th Annual Car Show April 4 2009

showbizkid
03-12-2009, 08:41 PM
When I was having my trans rebuilt, the shop I use told me his TC supplier wanted $600 to cut open my old converter and rebuild it! I found a new one from Jon Myers for about $300 and counted myself lucky.


[img=left]http://members.cox.net/clarknovak/lark.gif[/img=left]

Clark in San Diego
'63 F2/Lark Standard
http://studeblogger.blogspot.com
www.studebakersandiego.com

silverhawk
03-12-2009, 10:04 PM
My dads runs his own tranny shop, and in MHOP, 200 is a decient price for a torq converter for older not so common cars.

Dylan Wills

'61 lark deluxe 4 door wagon

studebaker-R2-4-me
03-12-2009, 11:15 PM
Sal,

Those HD stamped Torque converters are hard to come by, with higher stalls (2100 RPM) than standard Flightomatics (1700 RPM). I'd save that HD torque converter for a performance machine with a power shift. You could get $200 for the HD as a core. Chat to Jon Myers about it. I just replaced my HD torque converter in my Hawk (purchase from Myers)a couple of weeks ago along with an newly rebuilt powershift. I can't remember what I paid for the rebuilt TC but I can sure tell you this, it took me about 40 hours to re and re the entire job on my back.

Allen

http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o278/studebaker-r2-4-me/Side.jpg
1964 R2 GT Hawk
http://s122.photobucket.com/albums/o278/studebaker-r2-4-me/th_IMGP0662-2.jpg
1963 Daytona Convertible
Oakville, Ontario.
Hamilton Chapter
See you in Cedar Rapids Summer 2009

candbstudebakers
03-13-2009, 02:03 AM
Sal the last time a few years ago I needed one and just went to the transmission shop next to mine and asked if he could get one he sure and all he wanted to know was how many teeth, it took a couple of days and it cost me $150.00 with out a core, I have scrapped so many cores lately they are just in the way....Bob Peterson

sals54
03-13-2009, 02:06 AM
The JT engine did not have a power shift trans. It just had a normal column shift trans. Is that still a HD converter? I did not notice anything special about the way it shifted when I was driving it. Thanks for all the input. I appreciate the education.

sals54
http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/mm197/sals54/NewSignature.jpg

Roscomacaw
03-13-2009, 01:36 PM
Three years ago, I had two standard V8 torque convertors redone to high stall specs. Each was a few bucks less than $200.

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
1963 Cruiser
1960 Larkvertible V8
1958 Provincial wagon
1953 Commander coupe
1957 President two door

Dick Steinkamp
03-13-2009, 02:17 PM
quote:Originally posted by sals54

The JT engine did not have a power shift trans. It just had a normal column shift trans. Is that still a HD converter? I did not notice anything special about the way it shifted when I was driving it. Thanks for all the input. I appreciate the education.




The standard auto behind an R1 and R2 engine in a Hawk or Lark was a column shifted, water cooled FOM. I believe these torque converters had the higher stall speed.

I don't know if the water cooled FOM was optional behind a non R motor, but I have never seen one. However, the water cooled FOM was the ONLY auto available behind the Chevy V8's in the 65 and 66 Lark types.



Dick Steinkamp
Bellingham, WA

http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/ww63/dstnkmp/pics075-1-1.jpg

54-61-62
03-13-2009, 02:29 PM
Email sent Sal. I could have a excellent torque converter to you within a week. Let mew know after you check your email.

Thanks
Kent