PDA

View Full Version : Four speeds for Larks



Jeff T.
12-05-2006, 11:17 PM
In the same vein as my wondering about on first gear start automatics, throw out the question to gather others experiences before proceeding... I was going throught old turning wheel co-operators and other references when I began to wonder about four speed transmissions. I recall reading something somewhere about this but sometime I just forget where I saw what when.

We all know about the T-10 that was used in the Hawks and Larks.

What other fourspeeds can be used in a studebaker with a minimum of machining. I would love a T-10 but I do not think that I could afford one at this time.

Jeff T.

"I'm getting nowhere as fast as I can"
The Replacements.

JDP
12-05-2006, 11:25 PM
Since T-10's are about the cheapest out there, you may be out of luck. A typical used T-10 is in the $300-$400 range.

http://stude.com/sig.jpg
JDP
Arnold Md.
Studebaker On The Net
http://stude.com
My Ebay Items
http://www.stude.com/EBAY/

64 GT hawk
64 Daytona HT
63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk (Black)
63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk (Black) #2
63 Avanti R1
63 Daytona convert
63 Lark 2 door
62 Lark 2 door
60 Hawk
59 3E truck
52 Starlight
52 Starliner
51 Commander

JDP
12-05-2006, 11:34 PM
Dave T-Bow is working on a adapter for a cheap MOPAR 4 speed that has the 4th gear as a overdrive, but the bell housing will be in the $300 range.

http://stude.com/sig.jpg
JDP
Arnold Md.
Studebaker On The Net
http://stude.com
My Ebay Items
http://www.stude.com/EBAY/

64 GT hawk
64 Daytona HT
63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk (Black)
63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk (Black) #2
63 Avanti R1
63 Daytona convert
63 Lark 2 door
62 Lark 2 door
60 Hawk
59 3E truck
52 Starlight
52 Starliner
51 Commander

PackardV8
12-05-2006, 11:44 PM
I once put in an early Ford TopLoader, but those usually sell for more than T10s.

I do trust everyone knows there have been dozens of versions of the T10 over the past 50 years, only two of which bolt up to Studebaker V8s.

PackardV8

Jeff T.
12-05-2006, 11:54 PM
Hmmmmm. maybe I can swing this. For some odd reason I thought that the othere possibilities were cheaper since there were more of them.

Live and learn:)

Jeff T.

"I'm getting nowhere as fast as I can"
The Replacements.

Dick Steinkamp
12-06-2006, 12:15 AM
I think you could probably get a cast iron GM Saginaw cheaper than a T-10, but then you'd spend bucks to adapt it to the Stude bellhousing and machining an adapter for the pilot shaft...and you'd end up with a 4 speed that is weaker than the T-10 or a Muncie.

If you are going to do the work of adapting a transmission, a 5 speed (T-5) would be a much better choice. They cost about the same as a T-10 and you'll end up with an OD 5th gear.

More info here...

http://www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tech_5speed.asp



http://static.flickr.com/100/301465853_2dbe07b7c6_m.jpg
Dick Steinkamp
Bellingham, WA

Jessie J.
12-06-2006, 10:22 PM
quote:Originally posted by JDP

Dave T-Bow is working on a adapter for a cheap MOPAR 4 speed that has the 4th gear as a overdrive, but the bell housing will be in the $300 range.

No kidding! I have two of those Mopar o/d 4 speeds in my stash, purchased with an eye toward adapting them to my Studes, got any more info?

PackardV8
12-07-2006, 03:08 PM
Talked to Dave Thibault at the Reedsville meet and actually saw a Mopar 4-speed swap he had done. It is not difficult as transmission swaps go, but it is not anywhere near easy or cheap. The main advantage is a wide-ratio all-synchro 4-speed with overdrive top gear would be good in a truck. As I remember it:

1. You need the 5-speed truck bellhousing and throw-out bearing setup.
2. You need the aluminum case Mopar tranny, because adapter ears have to be welded on it to bolt up to the Studebaker truck bell housing.
3. You will have to use the Mopar clutch disk with the Studebaker pressure plate.

Bottom line for a street-driven car, the T-5 is the better investment, unless, as you do, you have the transmission, the talent and the time.


thnx, jv.

PackardV8