PDA

View Full Version : Diesels - What years and models?

mausersmth
01-30-2009, 02:43 PM
In an attempt to improve my education, I'm interested in when Studebaker offered a diesel engine (I know there are a few experimental diesels, but I'm talking about production models offered to the public) What years, models and engines were involved?
Thanks!

Charles Eck
Essex, MD

'57 Commander 4 door sedan, 'Bluebird'
'66 Ford F-250
'53 John Deere 50

Studebakers were made to drive! (Besides, they don't get lost as easy in the Wal-Mart parking lot!)

coyote
01-30-2009, 03:07 PM
I'm not an expert, but all the Studebaker diesel trucks I have seen were all Detroit Diesel powered, 53 series engines. The 53 stands for 53 cubic inches per cylinder.

Steve
Minden, Nevada

1950 2R5 truck
1960 Hawk R1 4 speed project

studelark
01-30-2009, 07:27 PM
Charles; The history of Studebaker diesel truck production came in two phases, pre-WWII and post-WWII.

Pre-WWII- Diesel trucks produced in the 1937 and 1938 model years. The engine used in these trucks was the Hercules model DJXB 6 cylinder diesel engine that produced 77 horsepower. There were 37 J20D diesel trucks built in 1937 and 49 K20D model trucks built in 1938. Production then ceased as the numbers did not justify continuation as the company's 'truck thinking' was moving away from the larger J and K models to the up-coming M series in 1941. The M series was a lighter truck line using Studebaker engines exclusively.

Post-WWII- The Studebaker Corp. made a more concerted effort in the early 1960's to bring diesel power to its truck line. Studebaker engineers saw the writing on the wall that diesel trucks were the future. Unfortunately, the bean-counters in the Corp. did not give the engineers a lot of help.