Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I want a Stude as a daily driver, but what model?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I want a Stude as a daily driver, but what model?

Hi all,

First, I just want to say how much I enjoy this forum and appreciate how generous everyone is with their knowledge and experience. I am fairly new to old car collecting but have jumped in with both feet and am having a great time. Learning what to look for when shopping for a project has been a real learning experience!

I have decided that I would like to restore a Studebaker as my daily driver and since I have not seen a Studebaker I don't like, I don't know which one to shop for. Would you please share your opinions on which models would be best suited for comfort and reliability as a daily driver?

Thank you in advance, I appreciate your guidance!

Terri Smith
    63 GT Hawk parts on ebay:

Terri - I only have experience with my 54, but if I were to chose a daily driver, I think I would pick one of the late model larks. They look good and there appear to be a lot of parts at reasonable prices.

Choice of year and body style would be up to you but there seems to be quite a number in good condition from forum members and Ebay.

Bob

Comment

59-66 Lark or Lark type
      Klif

55 Speedster
      55 Speedster/Street Machine
      63 Avanti R2
      64 Convertible R1

Comment

A 4 door Lark. Cheap, comfortable, and great little drivers. If you get a 6, stay away from automatics.

Matthew Burnette
        Hazlehurst, GA

Comment

I agree with the guys above regarding the Larks. My first Stude was a 63 4 door, six cylinder with 3 speed trans. It was manual steering and brakes but I found it very easy to drive. It was a great car and I still miss it 24 years later.

Jim

"Ahh, a bear in his natural habitat...a Studebaker!"
          Fozzie Bear in 'The Muppet Movie'

51 Land Cruiser (Elsie)
          Jim Mann
          Victoria, B.C.
          Canada