PDA

View Full Version : 50 Pickup advice

mbaysinger
10-20-2008, 11:01 PM
newbie here

I have a 50 Studebaker pickup that is in original condition, and it is rough. Been in a barn since 88. My question is how much would something like that be worth unrestored if I just liquidated it. And would it be a good investment to restore to original or maybe customize? I'm not sure who I could have restore it in the midwest, or how much that would even cost. Any advice?

Thanks!

JDP
10-20-2008, 11:17 PM
Here's mine to give you a idea, but forget paying to have someone restore a rough truck.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&sspagename=STRK%3AMESELX%3AIT&viewitem=&item=290267401084

JDP/Maryland
"I'm a great believer in luck and I find the harder I work, the more I have of it."
Thomas Jefferson

StudeDave57
10-21-2008, 12:55 AM
quote:Originally posted by mbaysinger

newbie here~ My question is how much would something like that be worth unrestored if I just liquidated it. And would it be a good investment to restore to original or maybe customize? Any advice? Thanks!
Tough call~ Is the truck 'family' to you? Some vehicle's value is in what it means to you, as opposed to what the 'blue book' might say. There are so many variables to your question that it's not any easy one to answer, especially based on the little bit of info you've posted...

Give us more details and we might be able to help you better.
Pictures are always good!!! ;) :)

StudeDave '57 [8D]
San Diego, Ca. (for now...)
San Diego County SDC
www.studebakersandiego.com

'54 Commander Regal 4dr 'Ruby'
'57 Parkview 'Betsy' (she's a 2dr wagon...)
'57 Commander DeLuxe 2dr 'Baby'
'57 Champion Custom 2dr 'Jewel'
'58 Packard sedan 'Cleo'
'65 Cruiser 'Sweet Pea'

Part owner of the one and only
'55 PROTOTYPE panel van

Henry Votel
10-21-2008, 06:00 AM
Hi Mark,