PDA

View Full Version : Hershey

alanmende
10-12-2008, 06:21 AM
10/10/08

This is the eve of the 2008 AACA Eastern Fall National Meet in Hershey, PA. Iíve been attending this meet since 1968 or Ď69. Most likely I attended first in Ď68 because that was the year I bought my first old car, a 1928 Buick Model 28-58 Five-Passenger Coupe. That means I have been pursuing a dream off and on for forty years. Perhaps not with the Buick, but definitely with the 1926 Model T Ford closed cab one-ton truck that I got in 1969, I dreamed of one day driving a restored antique onto the show field of Hershey. When I bought the Buick I knew absolutely nothing about auto mechanics or restoration. When I got the Model T, I started buying books and manuals. I even changed my college major to secondary education in industrial arts with a major concentration in power mechanics. I didnít want to teach auto shop; I wanted to learn auto mechanics to further my hobby.

With the vagaries of married life, child rearing, house building, relocating to different geographic areas, jobs, jobs, and more jobs, old cars for a long time took the proverbial back seat. Along the way, I also set aside the dream of winning an AACA national first prize, perhaps cynically saying it wasnít important. In the grand scheme of things, it isnít important.